Our people

Medical bionics is an exciting area where biology, medicine and engineering intersect. It demands people with an innovative and pioneering approach. For this reason, we bring together multidisciplinary teams of scientists, engineers and clinicians who are highly skilled and passionate about making a difference. Our people share a common goal of improving the lives of people with chronic and debilitating conditions.

We attract the very best talent from around the globe. Our scientists understand the physiology of how nerves respond to electrical stimulation, which forms the basis of bionic technologies. They work together with mechanical engineers, electrical engineers and biomedical engineers to develop safe designs for bionic devices. Clinicians advise and collaborate with them at every step of the process.

In addition to strong partnerships with clinicians, we have forged vital relationships with patient care and advocacy groups as well as individual patients. These strong links between research, clinicians, patients and community groups are critical for the successful development of new devices and treatments.

Our people have made significant contributions to scientific discovery and translation over many years. Their determination and passion continue to ensure the Bionics Institute is at the international forefront of medical bionics research.

Honorary Clinical Research Fellows

  • Dr Penny Allen
  • Dr Peter Bosonac
  • Mr Robert Briggs
  • Dr Kristian Bulluss
  • Prof David Castle
  • Dr Wendyl D’Souza
  • Dr Markus Dahm
  • Mr Andrew Danks
  • Prof Damiaan Denys
  • Dr Andrew Evans
  • Dr Robyn Guymer
  • Prof Ruth Litovsky
  • Prof Richard MacIsaac
  • Dr Jennifer McGingley
  • Mr Peter McNeill
  • Dr Gregory Moore
  • Prof Stephen O’Leary
  • Dr Richard Peppard
  • A/Prof Gary Rance
  • Prof Jeffrey Rosenfeld
  • Prof Susan Rossell
  • Prof Peter Silburn
  • Prof Peter Silburn
  • Dr Wesley Thevathasan
  • Dr Adam Vogel
  • Dr Simon Vogrin
  • Dr Sherryl Wagstaff
  • Dr Anneke Van Der Walt
  • A/Prof Glenn Ward
  • Dr Ben Wei

Honorary Research Fellows

  • Dr Pat Atkinson
  • Dr Mattias Bjornmalm
  • Prof Peter Blamey
  • Prof Tony Burkitt
  • Prof Frank Caruso
  • Dr Tong Yit Chow
  • Dr Ian Forster
  • Dr Tom Francart
  • Dr David Garrett
  • Prof David Grayden
  • Prof Malcolm Horne
  • Dr Sam Long
  • Dr Robert Luke
  • Prof Clive May
  • Dr Chris McCarthy
  • Ms Kerryn Baker (staff member)
  • Dr Bryony Nayagam
  • Dr David Ng
  • A/Prof Jim Patrick
  • Dr Carli Roulston
  • Prof David Ryugo
  • Dr Marc Sarossy
  • Dr Mohit Shivdasani
  • Prof Peter Thorne
  • Prof Gordon Wallace
  • Dr Stefan Weder
  • Dr Yan Wong
image description

Make a donation